Lake Champlain Maritime Museum Logo; Click to return to our Home Page.

Lois McClure Inaugural Tour Media Advisory - August 2005

Canal schooner Lois McClure departed from Perkins Pier in Burlington today to visit Lake Champlain Maritime Museum's home campus at Basin Harbor prior to her Inaugural Tour of Lake Champlain. Lois McClure will dock this weekend, Saturday, August 21 and Sunday, August 22 at the Basin Harbor campus for the first time to participate in the museum‚s annual Rabble In Arms Weekend. With a focus on Sailors, Shipwrights and Seamanship, this colorful event will bring together archaeologists, historians, and museum visitors to explore maritime life on Lake Champlain between 1750 and 1862. Both Lois McClure and Philadelphia II will be accessible for visitors to step on-board, guided by costumed re-enactors. Hands-on rowing and learning opportunities, live maritime demonstrations, special displays, and lectures will take place throughout the weekend.

The Rabble In Arms Weekend marks the beginning of Lois McClure's Inaugural Tour of Lake Champlain. Following the Rabble In Arms Weekend, Lois McClure will cross Lake Champlain for the first time in history as she heads to Westport, New York.

Below is a complete calendar and schedule of the Inaugural Tour of Lake Champlain:

August 21–22: Rabble In Arms Weekend
Lake Champlain Maritime Museum at Basin Harbor
10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M., Daily

August 26–27: Westport Marina, Westport, NY
Public Visitation Hours:
Thursday, August 26, 3:00 – 8:00 P.M.
Friday, August 27, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

August 28–29: Vergennes Town Dock on Otter Creek at Falls, Vergennes, VT
Public Visitation Hours:
Saturday, August 28, 12:00 – 6:00 P.M.
Sunday, August 29, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

September 1–5: St. Albans Bay Town Pier, St. Albans, VT
MEDIA OPPORTUNITY:
Lois McClure Arrival and Town Reception, Wednesday, September 1, 2:00 P.M.
Public Visitation Hours:
Thursday, September 2, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Friday, September 3, 10:00 – 5:00 P.M.
Saturday, September 4, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Sunday, September 5, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

September 6: Ladd's Landing (formerly Tudhopes Sailing Center), Grand Isle, VT
Public Visitation Hours:
Monday, September 6, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

September 8–13: Plattsburgh Boat Basin, Plattsburgh, NY
MEDIA OPPORTUNITY:
Lois McClure Arrival and Docking, Wednesday, September 8, Late Afternoon
Public Visitation Hours (ongoing with the Battle of Plattsburgh):
Thursday, September 9, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Friday, September 10, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Saturday, September 11, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Sunday, September 12, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M. – also check out the Antique Boat Show
Monday, September 13, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

September 15–19: Town Pier off Beggs Park, Essex, NY
MEDIA OPPORTUNITY:
Lois McClure Arrival and Coast Guard Escort, Wednesday, September 15, Afternoon
Public Visitation Hours:
Thursday, September 16, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Friday, September 17, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Saturday, September 18, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
***Lois McClure Evening Lecture, 7:00 P.M. at Essex Community Church, Free and Open to the Public – Lake Champlain Maritime Museum Director, Art Cohn, relates the history of schooners as were used on Lake Champlain so visitors can better understand how these vessels impacted the commercial community on Lake Champlain.***
Sunday, September 19, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

September 22–23: Lake Champlain Approach to Lock 12, Whitehall, NY
Public Visitation Hours:
Wednesday, September 22, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Thursday, September 23, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

September 24–28: NYS Terminal Dock at Village Beach, Port Henry, NY
Public Visitation Hours:
Saturday, September 25, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Sunday, September 26, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Monday, September 27, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Tuesday, September 28, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

September 30–October 4: Teachout's Wharf at Larrabee's Point, Shoreham, VT
Public Visitation Hours:
Thursday, September 30, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Friday, October 1, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Saturday, October 2, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Sunday, October 3, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Monday, October 4, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

October 7–10: Westport Marina, Westport, NY
Public Visitation Hours:
Thursday, October 7, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Friday, October 8, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Saturday, October 9, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Sunday, October 10, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.
Monday, October 11, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M.

October 12-17: Lake Champlain Maritime Museum, Basin Harbor, VT
Public Visitation During Museum Hours, 10:00 A.M.–5:00 P.M., Daily

October 19-30: Perkins Pier, Burlington, VT
Public Visitation During Burlington Shipyard Hours, 10:00 A.M.– 5:00 P.M., Daily